The Chronicles of Narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia


Lewis, C.S.


Baynes, Pauline


Geoffrey Bles and The Bodley Head



Seven volumes complete, published between 1950-1956, comprising, "The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe", (1950), [4], 5-172pp, [2]; "Prince Caspian", (1951), [4], 5-194pp, [2]; "The Voyage of the Dawn Treader", (1952), [8], 9-223pp, [1]; "The Silver Chair", (1953), [10], 11-217pp, [1]; "The Horse and His Boy", (1954), [8], 9-199pp, [1] with four full page illustrations outside of pagination; "The Magician's Nephew", (1955), [6], 7-183pp, [1] and "The Last Battle", (1956), [6], 7-184pp

Rebound by Temple Bookbinders in full blue morocco, raised bands, spines in six panels, title label to second panel, author label to fourth, remaining panels with central gilt device, date to foot, covers with single line border, gilt roll to inner edges, a.e.g.

Externally very good indeed, internally a few spots of soiling and one or two spots of foxing to margins, but generally quite bright and clean. 'Prince Caspian' lacks the half-title, small amount of pen marking to contents page of 'Silver Chair' and a pencil mark to bottom margin of page 83 of 'Last Battle'. Housed in a silk covered and velvet lined slipcase

Hooper A20, 21, 23, 24, 25, 27 and 29 respectively